Romance in the Stars

inspirations & fascinations

monday must-have list #1

leave a comment »

So, I’ve decided that every Monday I shall compile a Must-Have List of, well… that’s pretty self-explanatory.  It’s really more of a wish list; if I had endless amounts of money, it would be a list of purchases!  But really, these are things that have caught my eye and, if I come into some cash soon, I may invest in them.  It will range from clothing, shoes, and accessories to housewares and makeup, and maybe even CDs.  And each post will have a theme.  Shops that I take suggested products from will range from the affordable (like Forever 21) to the more pricey (like Urban Outfitters and Anthropologie) as well as the occasional so-out-of-my-price-range-that-it’s-more-like-a-dream (aka designer).   I’m not sure if I’ll post every Monday or every other Monday, but we shall see where this little project will take me!  I love many different styles, so you’re in store for a vast assortment of stuff. 🙂

Lately, I’ve been very into pastels and neutral tones, and anything romantic or lacy. I was very inspired by Chanel and Valentino’s spring/summer 2010 collections.  Light pinks and nudes are colors that I have currently been drawn to, which is interesting, because before recently I’d never given them much notice.  I’m also very into brown leather right now: belts, bags, shoes… I just can’t get enough!  Well, enjoy the must-have list.  Love love. ♥

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Staring at Stars Floral Henley in peach, $32.00, UO

It ties in with my pink theme beautifully.  I love the back floral detail, and just how comfortable it looks!

Kimchi Blue Linen Ankle-Strap Skimmer in silver, $28.00, UO

I think these shoes are so cute, and the price isn’t too bad!  I can see them going with skinny jeans and the floral henley very nicely.

Buttercup Posts in mauve, $18.00, Anthropologie

These chic little studs scream “Keep Calm and Carry On.”

Toasted Meringue Cuff in gold, $198.00, Anthropologie

Though not the cheapest accessory on the list, it sure could dress up any outfit it accompanies.

Scroll Footed Vanity Tray in antiqued black, $18.00, UO

Store your favorite makeup or jewelry on this antique tray!

Chantico Tank in white, $88.00, Anthropologie

I’m pretty sure I need this, right away.  I love the drape, and the stark white color makes it all the more striking.

Sabina Leather Satchel in sienna, $198.00, UO

I love oversized bags, and I love this hue of reddish-brown.  It provides great contrast to all the pastels and neutral tones that I’ve selected.

Kimchi Blue April Dress in purple sage, $68.00, UO

I’d feel ready for a tea party in this silk dress.  The cute little ruffles on the straps and around the waist make it sweeter than ever, I think.

Ropy Headband in silver, $32.00, Anthropologie

I love the effect the glass beads on the cotton give; it’s dainty yet sophisticated.

Catch-And-Release Scarf in sky, $32.00, Anthropologie

This ruffly, tasseled wool scarf gives texture to any outfit.

Soloist Flats in khaki, $200.00, Anthropologie

These flats are graceful and, though a bit expensive, so totally worth it.

Two Tone Bib Tunic in grey/dusty pink, $24.80, Forever 21

Not super fancy but still workin’ the same charm; I love the combo of grey and mauve with the attached necklace.

UO Nail Varnish in chrome, $12.00, UO

This set offers three colors to match and complement perfectly with anything in this post.

Lacey in saddle, $340.00, Abercrombie & Fitch

This bag is big and bold.  I love its potential to carry so many things.

Double Vision Belt in brown, $34.00, Anthropologie

Pair this strappy belt with a long t-shirt or simple dress to make a statement.

Circled Adornments Tank in ivory, $68.00, Anthropologie

I love that the circles continue from the collar down into the ruffles of the shirt in perforated detail.

Cubist Chandelier Earrings in clear, $58.00, Anthropologie

These elegant earrings can be paired with formal or casual attire; the end result will always look fabulous.

Ellipse Bralette and Ellipse Hipsters in oyster, $42.00 and $36.00, Anthropologie

I love the pattern on this set.  With its black edges, it prevents a disappearing act from like-skin tones.

Draping Orchid Spectators in mauve, $288.00, Anthropologie

I love everything about these darling little shoes.  The heels, the pink and light tan, the little ties around the ankle, and the front detailing… I adore it all.  Out of everything, these may be the first I actually buy from this list, if I’m ever in the mood to spend so much money on shoes…

And finally, an audio-accompaniment while you add these lovely garments & things to your shopping cart…

Vampire Weekend – Contra, $9.99, iTunes

Ezra Koenig, the lead singer, is soothing with the ability to hit appallingly high notes or coo along with tribal beats and electronic melodies. Also, his voice literally makes me want to marry him.  This CD really is a must-have.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

What are your must-haves?  Inspired by something you see here?  Comment and share your list, or just your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

